Tags

, , , ,

The Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save HumanityThe Final Summit: A Quest to Find the One Principle That Will Save Humanity by Andy Andrews My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I’m not sure if The Final Summit qualifies as an allegory, or if it simply feels a bit too preachy. I’m not a fan of fiction that starts with a moral lesson and wraps a story around it.

If the author feels so strongly about the message he wants to convey, maybe he should write a non-fiction book instead. Because when he uses the fiction format, it disconcerts fiction fans (like me) who sense that the characters and events are largely manipulated in order to deliver some earth-shattering, life-transforming punchline.

By the time we get to the last chapter, everything feels fabricated–including the golden insight that’s supposed to turn the reader’s life upside down.

But Andy Andrews is definitely a storyteller, and his ideas are original. I’m sure this book will interest others; it just wasn’t for me. View all my reviews

