Tags

, , , , , ,

The Gospel Story Bible
The Gospel Story Bible by Marty Machowski
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Here’s another addition to a child’s library. I wish I had all these books when I was a kid! I already had a lot, but you can never have enough, if you ask me.

This children’s Bible is unique in that it focuses on Jesus and the Gospel as it goes through the different stories from the Old and New Testaments. It’s a retelling of the Bible based on the ESV translation; a little wordy so I’d recommend it to 8-10 year olds.

At the end of each story there’s a little editorial to connect it with other parts of the Bible and try to paint the big picture of the story of redemption. Every couple of stories, some guide questions for reflection.

The art is a little avant garde, so it might turn off those who are used to traditional drawings. But I think children should be exposed to variety, it’ll make their imagination run. The book is hardbound and heavy so kids will probably have to read it at home.

All in all, I think it’s a good addition to a child’s shelf, and a good reminder for parents and the rest of us that as we teach children Bible stories, we should also show how these all point to the central story of God’s love and redemption through Jesus.

More reviews:

