This morning, on my way to work, I listened to Mike Enriquez read the headlines of the day’s newspapers. They were all about abducted Filipina journalist Ces Drilon and her team and the ultimatum their kidnappers gave the rest of the country. P15 million by noon today, or no more negotiations.Thankfully, the kidnappers extended the deadline.

I’m glad I’m not the one whose signature can validate a P15 million check. I would be absolutely torn. On the one hand, if I were ABS-CBN, P15 million would mean nothing. I could earn that in a day. And if it could mean bringing Ces and her team to safety, it would be too little a price to pay. But on the other hand, if I sign that check, whether on or off the record, here I would be validating the kidnappers and basically telling them, go ahead and kidnap my other TV personalities; I’ll dawdle for a while but you know I’ll eventually crumble and pay you in full. And everyone knows that when it comes to the big TV networks, there’s more where that P15 million came from.

P15 million could buy Ces’ freedom, but nail the coffin of the next reporter to venture into Mindanao; and the next, and the next.

I’m glad the only things my signature is good for are verifying delivery receipts and borrowing books.

