Tags

, , ,

Around the World in 80 Dates by Christa Ann Banister

This is the first book in the chicklit series featuring Sydney Alexander. The book cover is great; the picture reminds me of Audrey Hepburn. Title (and subtitle)—creative, appealing. Judging by the title and book cover, I expected an enjoyable, slightly satirical read, which would poke some harmless (but pointed) fun at Christians and the whole dating scene. I thought that sort of book would be a refreshing change from the usual mushy love story.

But preachy dialogue and moral-of-the-story narratives made the story development take a backseat. It hampered my being sucked into the fictional world of Sydney and relating to her and her friends. I was reading her romantic forays, but wasn’t at all empathizing with her love quest.

It didn’t help, at least for me, that Sydney wasn’t all that interesting. I’ve read one or two of the shopaholic books, and there’s a reason readers latch on to the series. I’m not a fan, but I can understand why people are hooked on it. I think it’s got a lot to do with the main character: she’s got to be interesting, funny, quirky; so much so that readers will join her through the whining, the excitement, the catastrophes, till the ultimate happy ending.

– – –
Around the World in 80 Dates: Confessions of a Christian Serial Dater is written by Christa Ann Banister, published by NavPress. Click here for more about the book, downloadable first chapter, etc.

