Last night I bought two coconuts from the corner buko seller, the kind that makes you doubt how often they clean the bolo cutting the coconut and the spoon scooping the flesh. No matter. It was P16 each and I wanted to chase away the beginnings of the sniffles.

I put the juice and shredded flesh in bottles and left them in the freezer overnight. By the next day they were only sludgy, not icy. I shook the bottles every hour or so to keep them from becoming ice. By lunch they were a nice sherbet-like texture. Perfect!

Buko + Milk

Buko + Milk

Scooped some heaping spoonfuls into glasses, added milk (I tried one with sliced bananas, it was okay; but I think nata de coco or gulaman would’ve been better)–luscious refreshing! It was a cold bath on a hot summer day, all inside your tummy.

I apologize for the picture, I know it doesn’t look like it was all that; you’re getting the tailend of a very quickly vanishing dessert. But it’s an easy, perfect summer meal-ender.

Buko sherbet + Milk + Banana

Buko sherbet + Milk + Banana

