Here’s my dilemma: I love scones and English muffins but I can’t find a whole wheat variety anywhere, and I don’t bake; we don’t have an oven.

Solution: griddle scones and English muffins!

My first bread!

Thanks to wikipedia and a bunch of enthusiastic blogger strangers, I found easy recipes for whole wheat goodies that I can make with a griddle  (or in my case, a Teflon pan).

So the night before Araw ng Kagitingan, I raided the Trinoma Landmark grocery for alien sounding ingredients like all-purpose flour, yeast, cornmeal, baking powder…

Then what-do-you-know, I spotted some hard-to-find agave nectar, gave in to Lily’s peanut butter, etc. etc. and before I knew it I had spent P1,000 while forgetting, oh I don’t know, bare essentials like deodorant!

But the English Muffins were so good! I was absolutely amazed I had made actual bread without burning down the house.

Whole wheat English muffins

Tatay and I couldn’t stop eating the English Muffins for lunch. Definitely hits the spot with cheese, peanut butter, jam, whatever–the whole wheat really hits your stomach like a ton of bricks.

Tomorrow, whole wheat griddle scones!

Take note that before this, all the bread I could make was pancakes (with a mix, too!). So if I can do it, you can definitely do it better! 🙂

Here’s the recipe. The only thing I substituted was molasses for sugar, and I added flaxseed.

