I’m currently reading Now, Discover Your Strengths by Marcus Buckingham and Donald Clifton.

Well-written. I rarely say this about books because not many deserve this praise. To me, this means the ideas are laid out clearly, unfolded organically, and simply made to make sense. This isn’t just about a well-designed flowchart translated into book-form. It’s about a good use of the language so that it flows effortlessly, a structure that is well-planned so that punchlines aren’t forced, a sharp editor’s keen instinct so that unnecessary clutter is trimmed.

You may be smart, you may have clever insights, but unless you write them well, then you’re probably better off with holding a workshop.

De-jargonized. It’s a self-help book on developing yourself, knowing more about who you are, how to grow into a better person. It’s tempting for book of this kind to just pick and choose among the many perfect keywords available. Except that after reading the book, the reader comes away with the feeling that he didn’t learn anything new–or anything, for that matter–at all. This book, however, tries to defamiliarize by staying away from the cliche, forcing you to rethink words and meanings, making you reconsider your perceptions, ideas. A book like that challenges me.

I’ll be taking the StrengthsFinder test pretty soon; for the first time I’m actually looking forward to knowing more about myself. Maybe because this is one of the few times I don’t feel like I’m being taken in for a ride.

