When Takbo.ph tweeted about Figaro’s first fun run, I couldn’t not click the link. What could be better than my two favorites, running and drinking coffee? (Not exactly at the same time, of course) The only thing is perhaps Run to Read, which touches on another love, reading.

I love barako coffee, especially Batangas palengke-bought by the kilo, fresh from the grinder. Whenever I’m in Batangas I’d get 2-3 kilos and come away with heavy, cheap sando plastic bags, half-giddy, half-guilty at having purchased a luxury for only P200/kilo.

And I’ve always been a fan of Figaro because they’re a local company that’s vocal about protecting and promoting what’s ours. (If only they didn’t have those darn uncomfortable chairs and cumbersome tables.)

So a fun run that’ll raise funds to plant more barako trees? Count me in!

Click for details: “Race to Save the Barako Tree” (1st Figaro fun run) on September 4

