Tags

, , , ,

NBS, you made my day.

After groceries, dropped by to check out the latest fiction releases. Just an aimless visit. I haven’t stayed up to date with the latest in contemporary fiction; I’ve been steeped in Christian literature for a while now. So I’m curious about new authors and bestselling titles, and I wanted to sneak in a chapter or two of Kazuo Ishiguro or Jhumpa Lahiri before dinner.

Straightaway from the entrance I got waylaid at the sale shelves. Spotted: John Grisham’s A Painted House, hardbound, P99; Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point, P50; Mark Haddon’s The Talking Horse and The Sad Girl and The Village Under the Sea (poems), P50; Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns, P149.75.

Also saw an odd novel here and there by Christian fiction writers Ted Dekker, Tim LaHaye, Karen Kingsbury, Beverly Lewis. Some Young Adult books as I knew them, too: a couple of Newberry award-winners, and Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time. I guess they’ve been eased out of the shelves by today’s promiscuous vampires.

I finally bought A Thousand Splendid Suns. I’ve been meaning to read a Hosseini novel since The Kite Runner made everyone cry, and when I browsed the first few lines of A Thousand Splendid Suns, I knew I had made a new friend.

