Tags

, , , , , ,

The Book of JaneThe Book of Jane by Anne Dayton and May Vanderbilt
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’m intrigued by attempts at Christian chicklit and I thought this had the makings of a good one. It’s a modern retelling of Job’s story: Jane has it all, then loses it all; will her faith stay intact?

Job has inspired me so many times over the years, so I was looking forward to getting into his story again. But Job’s world-crumbling-down disasters were translated a tad too literally, and the Jane’s day of misfortunes looked trumped up and scripted. It was hard to empathize with her. Plus, the resolution felt so deus ex machina, despite attempts at plant-and-payoff to avoid it.

I don’t blame the authors: Job’s story does sound like an unbelievable fairytale! Perhaps in this modern retelling they shouldn’t have stuck like glue to it, and instead used it as a springboard for a plot line that would be more convincing to readers today.

The only intriguing aspect of the book for me was Jane’s love interest, a male character that’s pretty original, and a masterful love story crafting that leaves the reader rooting for her favorite, but unable to guess the end. Bravo for a literary counterpart to Hollywood’s enigmatic, brusque-but-charming, unreadable-but-adorable male lead.

View all my reviews

