Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Around The World In 80 Dates : Confessions Of A Christian Serial DaterAround The World In 80 Dates by Christa Banister
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

This is the first book in the chicklit series featuring Sydney Alexander. The book cover is great; the picture reminds me of Audrey Hepburn. Title (and subtitle)—creative, appealing. Judging by the title and book cover, I expected an enjoyable, slightly satirical read, poking some harmless (but pointed) fun at Christians and the whole dating scene. I thought that sort of book would be a refreshing change from the usual mushy love story.

But preachy dialogue and moral-of-the-story narratives made the story development take a backseat. It hampered entrance into a fictional world.

It was hard to relate to Sydney or her friends, much less tell them apart–they were all similarly flat characters. I was reading Sydney’s romantic forays, but wasn’t at all empathizing with her love quest.

It didn’t help that Sydney wasn’t all that interesting. I’ve read one or two of the Shopaholic books, and there’s a reason readers latch on to the series. I’m not a fan, but I can see the rich, colorful characters that get readers hooked and rooting for them through the whining, the excitement, the catastrophes, till the ultimate happy ending.

View all my reviews

