Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Next Christians: The Good News About the End of Christian AmericaThe Next Christians: The Good News About the End of Christian America by Gabe Lyons
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Incisive, reflective; this book made me think and re-think my pre-set notions of what I believe about Christianity and how I live it out.

Gabe Lyons gives a big-picture view of Christianity in America today based on research, surveys, and thoughtful analysis. What I like most about it is its non-offensive tone: while the truth might not necessarily be pretty, Lyons paints it honestly and somehow manages not to make it seem like an attack or accusation.

Maybe it’s because he presents it logically and writes as though he’s half-musing, half-discovering as he goes along, as if you’re putting the pieces together at the same pace.

Best of all, the book points to the evidence of God at work in our world today, to the hope that He’s changing it in ways we never would’ve thought possible, and to the invitation He gives us to join Him in His work.

View all my reviews

