Tags

, , , , , ,

Never Blink In A Hailstorm And Other Lessons On LeadershipNever Blink In A Hailstorm And Other Lessons On Leadership by David L. McKenna
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve always wanted to read this book. David McKenna was the youngest president of a college in the US (at age 30 something). He was also president of Seattle Pacific University, where my father went.

It’s about the things a leader must never do. The title hooked me, although a list of “nevers” almost seemed cliche. The writing style was easygoing but the insights packed a punch. Points were emphasized by experience, and then held up against the ultimate model of leadership, Jesus Christ.

I don’t read a lot of books on leadership, but I liked this one. It was fresh. McKenna got me genuinely interested in what he had to say about leadership, his stories, other people’s examples, and biblical principles. And I might forget most of the stuff in the book, but I have a handful of nuggets that I’m most likely not going to forget.

In the Philippines, this book is available at the OMF Lit Bookshop under the title Never Steal a Paper Clip (which, if you ask me, is a catchier title). Get it at a crazy low price if you go to the OMF Lit Bookshop’s crazy sale.

View all my reviews

