Tags

, , , , , , ,

Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Image via Wikipedia

Dietrich Bonhoeffer's Meditations on PsalmsDietrich Bonhoeffer’s Meditations on Psalms by Edwin H. Robertson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Once I settled into the unfamiliar cadence of Bonhoeffer’s old-school language, I gleaned so many hard-hitting insights from his sermons. Even though I was generations apart from the audience he addressed, I felt the heavy weight of his passion for God and challenge to Christlikeness as though he had spoken it directly to me.

This collection of sermons included key points in Bonhoeffer’s life; it helped me get to know him and appreciate all the more his stand for Christ at such a crucial time in history.

I’m so thankful to God for men like Bonhoeffer whose ideas and writings help the rest of us Christians get a firmer grasp on our own faith.

This is an ideal book for non-theologians like me: it’s in-depth enough to stretch my mind, but short enough not to overwhelm. Plus, everyone can relate to the Psalms, and here Bonhoeffer enriches them and encourages us not just to read them as poetry but to pray them as prayers.

View all my reviews

