Tags

, , , , , ,

Hostage in Havana (Cuban Trilogy, #1)Hostage in Havana by Noel Hynd
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

A decent suspense thriller, nothing particularly exciting, but passable entertainment. Definitely a step up from other suspense wannabes, which turn you off and sound fake from the first page.

Hostage in Havana opens well and lets you cozy up with the characters enough to make you want to follow them.

I’m not comfortable with the type used: it’s not standard, and sticks out as I was reading. It feels too casual and amateurish, like it was for a fun teen book.

The cover is odd, too. There is a girl running away from some evil forces in an ominous car along a dark street, but she appears to be smiling.

I’d recommend this book for a quick weekend read, but fans of Robert Ludlum, W.E.B. Griffin, Lee Child, and other fast-paced thrillers will find this less of a page-turner.

View all my reviews

