Tags

, , , , , , ,

John le Carré at the "Zeit Forum Kultur&q...

Image via Wikipedia

The Constant GardenerThe Constant Gardener by John le Carré
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I saw the film and I just had to read the book. John le Carre takes his time, unfolding things delicately, not skipping details–like a man who has an important appointment but still looks around him with wonder as he walks towards the meeting place.

I expected novels like this to be told in a wham-bam style, with plot twist after plot twist raining down on the main character. But I was hooked by the quiet way Le Carre spun his web. He built the tension well, until I wanted to hurry him up and turn the pages faster than I absorbed them.

The movie was disturbing; the book didn’t disappoint. Still, whereas in the movie you have Ralph Fiennes delighting you in every scene, in reading the book you have nothing but pages of text, so better settle in and pack a little patience till it picks up and becomes absolutely un-put-downable.

View all my reviews

