Tags

, , , , , ,

The Runner's Devotional: Inspiration and Motivation for Life's Journey . . . On and Off the RoadThe Runner’s Devotional by Dana Niesluchowski
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A good gift for runners, from the wannabe to the enthusiast. Each weekly read gives you a good dose of inspiration from the Bible and motivation from fellow runners. Includes running tips, testimonies, a weekly running log, some basic training guides, and encouraging words featuring Scripture passages. Many feature Paul’s writing, which I love, and very apt since Paul wrote about living the Christian life as a runner in a race.

As a devotional, it doesn’t stand out much. I would’ve liked to have more Scripture passages to focus on, and less stories. I was expecting something more spiritually challenging, and marathon-Christianity parallels that will rev up the runner in all of us and get us off the couch and onto the track.

Nevertheless, I still recommend it to runners: the running log and journal are useful, and reading about running always gives you one more reason to hit the road.

View all my reviews

