Tags

, , ,

Living Close to God (When You're Not Good at It): A Spiritual Life That Takes You Deeper Than Daily Devotions
Living Close to God (When You’re Not Good at It): A Spiritual Life That Takes You Deeper Than Daily Devotions by Gene Edwards
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love the idea of this book, it’s perfect for people like me who can’t sit still for one minute, let alone fifteen minutes of quiet time. I thought it would give me practical, step-by-step solutions, but it didn’t. That was a bit of a disappointment, since I was looking for some sort of paracetamol for my spiritual headache. But I realized there might not be an easy, over-the-counter prescription for what ails me.

The book is a lot about the author’s own experience, which made me realize my spiritual ADHD didn’t make me such a freak of nature after all. It made me stop flogging myself for what I perceived to be bad discipleship traits. Instead, I started thinking of how I can live close to God according to how He designed me.

So now I understand why this book doesn’t give me a panacea–there’s no such thing. We’re all probably wired in different ways, and cultivate our relationship with Christ through different means. I’ll just have to keep plodding on, discovering new things about myself and God as I go along, with helpful books such as this.

View all my reviews

