Tags

, , ,

Pattern of Wounds
Pattern of Wounds by J. Mark Bertrand
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I like Christian love stories, but when it comes to suspense/thrillers, I get my fill from Lee Child, John Grisham, Robert Ludlum, and, yes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I just haven’t found a Christian author who can deliver in that department. J. Mark Bertrand may just be the exception.

Pattern of Wounds is gritty and dark. The writing is masterful; Bertrand has created a noir world that is completely absorbing.

The main character, Roland March, is the kind of wounded anti-hero that’s got you rooting for him despite all his flaws. I’m definitely looking forward to the conclusion of the series.

I’m a little surprised, actually. My first encounter with J. Mark Bertrand is Beguiled, his team-up with romance novelist Deeanne Gist. While Gist is one of my favorites, Beguiled just really failed for me. I couldn’t read past the first few chapters. And it certainly didn’t feel like Bertrand had a hand in it. It felt like a weak mystery, and an even weaker love story.

View all my reviews

