Tags

, ,

Dash and Lily's Book of DaresDash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Despite telling myself repeatedly that I should be too old to be reading teen stories, I have given in to Rachel Cohn and David Levithan twice. (The first was Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist; yes, I admit it)

Dash and Lily are adorable. Thoroughly enjoyed the story of upper middle class teens in New York, set against the backdrop of Christmastime in the city.

I don’t know how far removed from reality it is, but Rachel and David’s entertaining storytelling lets me suspend disbelief all too willingly. I mean, really, teen boys who contemplate life (and the etymology of words) like Dash? I wish I met boys like that when I was that age. Or any age, for that matter.

Meanwhile, Lily (and her huge, crazy family) is absolutely a doll, but really, she’s more likely someone I’d come across in a Hollywood movie than on the street.

And I’m almost sure that in the light of day, if read more closely, the coincidences that push the story forward will appear a lot more like the well-placed plot points that they are. But for now, I’ll ignore that.

The he-said-she-said style was perfect for the story, and the words are beautiful; some of Dash’s thoughts are even quotable. And, thankfully, Dash and Lily are a sweet respite from the endless cussing of Nick and Norah.

View all my reviews

